Christmas at the Chalet (Review)

by Anita Hughes

⭐⭐⭐⭐

A delicious love story about a bridal designer showing her new collection in the Alps during the magical week of Christmas where hijinx of the heart ensue.

It’s the day after Christmas, and Felicity Grant is at a gorgeous ski chalet in St. Moritz for the biggest fashion show of her career. Felicity is a rising star on the bridal design scene, and this is her best collection yet. But when her boyfriend gives her a spa day instead of a diamond ring for Christmas, she has to face the possibility that she may never walk down the aisle in one of her own stunning designs.

And then there’s Nell, the top model headlining Felicity’s show. Nell is planning her dream wedding to her wonderful fiance with one catch: her divorced parents can’t stand each other and threaten to no-show if the other is there.

Add to that Felicity’s race against the clock to create a special gown for a prestigious bridal salon, and what both girls need is a Christmas miracle. What better place to find one than in the Swiss Alps with its dark forests and sparkling vistas? Continue reading “Christmas at the Chalet (Review)”

The Girl They Left Behind (Review)

by Roxanne Veletzos

⭐⭐⭐⭐

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.

On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation.

Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. Continue reading “The Girl They Left Behind (Review)”

Finding True North (Review)

by Audrey Wick

⭐⭐⭐⭐

Life in a small town has always suited Paige Fredrick. She loves going to work near the courthouse square and riding her bike nearly anywhere she chooses. But after her divorce, she can hear her neighbors’ whispers and the gossip mill churning.

Everett Mullins has worries of his own as he finds himself back in his hometown, providing temporary care to his ailing mother while trying to run their family farm. A chance meeting reunites him with Paige, his crush from high school. But when he discovers her little white lie, he questions what they’ve started building.

As Paige makes a new life, can she find direction with Everett? Or has too much damage already been done to navigate a romantic relationship built on a lie?

* * *

In Finding True North, debut author Audrey Wick delivers an engaging story about losses, fears, and second chances. Continue reading “Finding True North (Review)”

Somebody’s Daughter (Review)

by Rochelle B. Weinstein

⭐⭐⭐⭐

From USA Today bestselling author Rochelle B. Weinstein comes an emotional novel for mothers, daughters, and anyone who has ever felt imperfect.

Emma and Bobby Ross enjoy a charmed life on the shores of Miami Beach. They are a model family with a successful business, an uncomplicated marriage, and two blessedly typical twin daughters, Zoe and Lily. They are established members of a tight-knit community.

Then, on the night of the girls’ fifteenth birthday party, they learn of Zoe’s heartbreaking mistake—a private and humiliating indiscretion that goes viral and thrusts her and her family into the center of a shocking public scandal.

As the family’s core is shattered by disgrace, judgment, and retribution, the fallout takes its toll. But for Emma, the shame runs deeper. Her daughter’s reckless behavior has stirred memories of her own secrets that could break a marriage and family forever.

* * *

Actual and gripping, Somebody’s Daughter is the story of a family dealing with the consequences of a mistake and tell us about the power and the risks of the internet if manipulated with bad intentions. Nowadays, in the social media era, teenagers are the most vulnerable targets of this virtual world. Being part of a kind of “sharing circle”, sometimes they don’t think about the people on the other side of the screen: they might be family, friends, followers, but also people looking for someone’s weakness to manipulate.

Continue reading “Somebody’s Daughter (Review)”

BLOG TOUR – The Pursuit of Mrs. Pennyworth (Review & Giveaway)

 

From USA Today Bestselling Author Callie Hutton is a new captivating and suspenseful historical romance…

 

⭐⭐⭐⭐

Recently widowed, Charlotte Pennyworth is relishing her independence and it rankles to have to rely on a man to help her with an increasingly sinister stalker. Former Yardman, Elliot Baker, is reluctant to take on Charlotte’s case but despite himself and his history with another woman, he is drawn to the bright, attractive widow.Sparks smolder between the PI and his client but neither is looking to form an attachment. Elliot thinks Charlotte is hiding something. Charlotte has no desire to marry again, especially to a private investigator, no matter how handsome, brave and kind he is. The risk to his life and her heart is too great. But more dangerous than a menacing stalker is secrets and when Charlotte’s come to light, even the passion between them might not douse the flames of Elliot’s distrust.

* * *

The Pursuit of Mrs. Pennyworth was an interesting and quick read and my first book by Callie Hutton. Continue reading “BLOG TOUR – The Pursuit of Mrs. Pennyworth (Review & Giveaway)”

Your Creative Career (Review)

by Anna Sabino

⭐⭐⭐⭐

Anna Sabino is an artist, but certainly not a starving one. She wasn’t born into a wealthy family, didn’t inherit money from a distant relative, and doesn’t have a rich husband. But she made it as an entrepreneur, as a single woman, and most importantly, as an artist.

In Your Creative Career, she shows her fellow artists and creatives how to build a business that reflects their talent and true calling while generating serious cash. Whether the goal is to build an empire and be financially free, create a lifestyle business, or just to have more time, Your Creative Career guides you through every aspect of creative entrepreneurship.

If you want to start your creative career, transition into it, or give it a boost, this book is a must read that features:

Proven systems and strategies to create ideally priced products that keep selling.

The importance of going through all the steps of making it from idea inception and execution to branding and distribution.

The importance of transitioning from artistic solitude to collaborative, creative entrepreneurship.

The most effective marketing and PR methods adjusted to the new reality of short attention spans and information overload.

* * *

In Your Creative Career, Anna Sabino introduces the reader to a motivational path towards a creative career.

The author’s advice, based on her experience as a creative entrepreneur, is always honest and encouraging, but she does not sell impossible dreams. For the “aspiring” entrepreneur, to pursue a creative job and start living by his/her own rules, commitment is the keyword. Continue reading “Your Creative Career (Review)”