Red Sky Over Hawaii

Red Sky Over Hawaii

598 03 HTP Summer Reads Blog Tour HISTORICAL FICTION 2020 640x247 1

Red Sky Over HawaiiA Novel
by Sara Ackerman

On Sale: June 9, 2020
Publisher: MIRA Books
Paperback: 352 Pages


For fans of Chanel Cleeton and Beatriz Williams, RED SKY OVER HAWAII is a historical women’s fiction set in the islands during WWII. It’s the story of a woman who has to put her safety and her heart on the line when she becomes the unexpected guardian of a misfit group and decides to hide with them in a secret home in the forest on Kilauea Volcano.

The attack on Pearl Harbor changes everything for Lana Hitchcock. Arriving home on the Big Island too late to reconcile with her estranged father, all she can do is untangle the clues of his legacy, which lead to a secret property in the forest on Kilauea Volcano. America has been drawn into WWII, and amid rumors of impending invasion, the army places the islands under martial law. When they start taking away neighbors as possible sympathizers, Lana finds herself suddenly guardian to two girls, as well as accomplice to an old family friend who is Japanese, along with his son. In a heartbeat, she makes the decision to go into hiding with them all.

(more…)

We Came Here To Shine


We Came Here To ShineA Novel
by Susie Orman Schnall

On Sale: June 16, 2020
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Paperback: 384 Pages


Set during the iconic 1939 New York World’s Fair, Susie Orman Schnall’s We Came Here to Shine is historical fiction featuring two intrepid young women—an aspiring journalist and a down-on-her-luck actress—form an unlikely friendship as they navigate a world of endless possibility, stand down adversity, and find out what they are truly made of during the glorious summer of spectacle and opportunity…

Vivi Holden is closer than she’s ever been to living her dream as a lead actress in sun-dappled L.A., but an unfair turn of events sends her back to New York, a place she worked so hard to escape from. She has one last chance to get back to Hollywood—by performing well as the star of the heralded Aquacade synchronized swimming spectacular at the World’s Fair. Everything seems to be working against her, but her summer in New York will lead to her biggest opportunity to find her own way, on her own terms…

(more…)
Mrs. Lincoln’s Sisters

Mrs. Lincoln’s Sisters


Mrs. Lincoln's Sisters book coverA Novel
by Jennifer Chiaverini

On Sale: June 2, 2020
Publisher: William Morrow 
Paperback: 352 Pages


With Mrs. Lincoln’s Sisters, bestselling author Jennifer Chiaverini returns to her most famous heroine, Mary Todd Lincoln, in this compelling story of love, loss, and sisterhood rich with history and suspense.

In May 1875, Elizabeth Todd Edwards reels from news that her younger sister Mary, former First Lady and widow of President Abraham Lincoln, has attempted suicide. 

Mary’s shocking act followed legal proceedings arranged by her eldest and only surviving son that declared her legally insane. Although they have long been estranged, Elizabeth knows Mary’s tenuous mental health has deteriorated through decades of trauma and loss. Yet is her suicide attempt truly the impulse of a deranged mind, or the desperate act of a sane woman terrified to be committed to an asylum? And—if her sisters can put past grievances aside—is their love powerful enough to save her? 

(more…)

The Jane Austen Society


The Jane Austen Society book coverA Novel
by Natalie Jenner

On Sale: May 26, 2020
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Paperback: 320 Pages


“Fans of The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society… A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal.” ―Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable.

One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England’s finest novelists. Now it’s home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen’s legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen’s home and her legacy. These people―a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others―could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society.

(more…)
The Last Train To Key West

The Last Train To Key West


The Last Train To Key West book coverA Novel
by Chanel Cleeton

On Sale: June 16, 2020
Publisher: Berkley 
Paperback: 320 Pages


Chanel Cleeton, author of the Reese’s Book Club pick, Next Year in Havana and the instant New York Times bestseller When We Left Cuba, comes with a new historical fiction novel, The Last Train To Key West.

In 1935 three women are forever changed when one of the most powerful hurricanes in history barrels toward the Florida Keys.
 
For the tourists traveling on Henry Flagler’s legendary Overseas Railroad, Labor Day weekend is an opportunity to forget the economic depression gripping the nation. But one person’s paradise can be another’s prison, and Key West-native Helen Berner yearns to escape.

(more…)
10 favorite beach reads of 2020

10 favorite beach reads of 2020

10 favorite beach reads of 2020

 

Hello everyone!

It’s that time of the year when we start thinking about summer reads and spending time at the beach. With everything going on with the Covid, this year things might go differently, but we can at least enjoy all the summer vibes spread by these new releases.

I hope in these favorite beach reads of mine, you’ll find good alternatives to escape from the difficult new situation we’re all living through. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts, and I’m definitely looking forward to your book recommendation as well!

Stay Safe and Happy Reading!

eli2

JillShalvisTheSummerDeal

The Summer Deal

by Jill Shalvis

When I think about beach reads, I also think about Jill Shalvis’ novels who usually give me all the feels, and this summer, she comes with a new book, whose cover only makes me want to absolutely grab a copy.

The Summer Deal is a friends-to-frenemies-to-lovers story… Add in a few secrets. Shake. Stir. Then read on a lazy summer day at the beach…

Brynn Turner desperately wishes she had it together, but her personal life is like a ping-pong match that’s left her scared and hurt after so many attempts to get it right. In search of a place to lick her wounds and get a fresh start, she heads back home to Wildstone.

(more…)