The Book of Lost Names

The Book of Lost Names

The Book of Lost Names book cover

A Novel
by Kristin Harmel

On Sale: July 21, 2020
Publisher: Gallery Books
Print Lenght: 400 Pages

An engaging and evocative novel reminiscent of The Lost Girls of Paris and The Alice NetworkThe Book of Lost Names by author Kristin Harmel, is a testament to the resilience of the human spirit and the power of bravery and love in the face of evil.

Eva Traube Abrams, a semi-retired librarian in Florida, is shelving books one morning when her eyes lock on a photograph in a magazine lying open nearby. She freezes; it’s an image of a book she hasn’t seen in sixty-five years—a book she recognizes as The Book of Lost Names.

(more…)
The Woman Before Wallis

The Woman Before Wallis

598 03 HTP Summer Reads Blog Tour HISTORICAL FICTION 2020 640x247 1

 

The Woman Before Wallis

A Novel
by Bryn Turnbull

On Sale: July 21, 2020
Publisher: MIRA 
Paperback: 320 Pages

For fans of The Paris Wife and The Crown, comes The Woman Before Wallis, a stunning novel tells the true story of the American divorcée who captured Prince Edward’s heart before he abdicated his throne for Wallis Simpson.

In the summer of 1926, when Thelma Morgan marries Viscount Duke Furness after a whirlwind romance, she’s immersed in a gilded world of extraordinary wealth and privilege. For Thelma, the daughter of an American diplomat, her new life as a member of the British aristocracy is like a fairy tale—even more so when her husband introduces her to Edward, Prince of Wales.

(more…)
The Black Swan of Paris

The Black Swan of Paris

598 03 HTP Summer Reads Blog Tour HISTORICAL FICTION 2020 640x247 1

 

The Black Swan of Paris book cover

A Novel
by Karen Robards

On Sale: June 30, 2020
Publisher: MIRA 
Paperback: 320 Pages

For fans of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris comes The Black Swan of Paris, a thrilling standalone by New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards about a celebrated singer in WWII occupied France who joins the Resistance to save her estranged family from being killed in a German prison.

In Occupied France, the Resistance trembles on the brink of destruction. Its operatives, its secrets, its plans, all will be revealed. One of its leaders, wealthy aristocrat Baron Paul de Rocheford, has been killed in a raid and the surviving members of his cell, including his wife the elegant Baronness Lillian de Rocheford, have been arrested and transported to Germany for interrogation and, inevitably, execution.

(more…)
Red Sky Over Hawaii

Red Sky Over Hawaii

598 03 HTP Summer Reads Blog Tour HISTORICAL FICTION 2020 640x247 1

Red Sky Over HawaiiA Novel
by Sara Ackerman

On Sale: June 9, 2020
Publisher: MIRA Books
Paperback: 352 Pages


For fans of Chanel Cleeton and Beatriz Williams, RED SKY OVER HAWAII is a historical women’s fiction set in the islands during WWII. It’s the story of a woman who has to put her safety and her heart on the line when she becomes the unexpected guardian of a misfit group and decides to hide with them in a secret home in the forest on Kilauea Volcano.

The attack on Pearl Harbor changes everything for Lana Hitchcock. Arriving home on the Big Island too late to reconcile with her estranged father, all she can do is untangle the clues of his legacy, which lead to a secret property in the forest on Kilauea Volcano. America has been drawn into WWII, and amid rumors of impending invasion, the army places the islands under martial law. When they start taking away neighbors as possible sympathizers, Lana finds herself suddenly guardian to two girls, as well as accomplice to an old family friend who is Japanese, along with his son. In a heartbeat, she makes the decision to go into hiding with them all.

(more…)
We Came Here To Shine

We Came Here To Shine


We Came Here To ShineA Novel
by Susie Orman Schnall

On Sale: June 16, 2020
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Paperback: 384 Pages


Set during the iconic 1939 New York World’s Fair, Susie Orman Schnall’s We Came Here to Shine is historical fiction featuring two intrepid young women—an aspiring journalist and a down-on-her-luck actress—form an unlikely friendship as they navigate a world of endless possibility, stand down adversity, and find out what they are truly made of during the glorious summer of spectacle and opportunity…

Vivi Holden is closer than she’s ever been to living her dream as a lead actress in sun-dappled L.A., but an unfair turn of events sends her back to New York, a place she worked so hard to escape from. She has one last chance to get back to Hollywood—by performing well as the star of the heralded Aquacade synchronized swimming spectacular at the World’s Fair. Everything seems to be working against her, but her summer in New York will lead to her biggest opportunity to find her own way, on her own terms…

(more…)
Mrs. Lincoln’s Sisters

Mrs. Lincoln’s Sisters


Mrs. Lincoln's Sisters book coverA Novel
by Jennifer Chiaverini

On Sale: June 2, 2020
Publisher: William Morrow 
Paperback: 352 Pages


With Mrs. Lincoln’s Sisters, bestselling author Jennifer Chiaverini returns to her most famous heroine, Mary Todd Lincoln, in this compelling story of love, loss, and sisterhood rich with history and suspense.

In May 1875, Elizabeth Todd Edwards reels from news that her younger sister Mary, former First Lady and widow of President Abraham Lincoln, has attempted suicide. 

Mary’s shocking act followed legal proceedings arranged by her eldest and only surviving son that declared her legally insane. Although they have long been estranged, Elizabeth knows Mary’s tenuous mental health has deteriorated through decades of trauma and loss. Yet is her suicide attempt truly the impulse of a deranged mind, or the desperate act of a sane woman terrified to be committed to an asylum? And—if her sisters can put past grievances aside—is their love powerful enough to save her? 

(more…)