The Whispers of War – Book Review

The Whispers of War – Book Review

by Julia Kelly

⭐⭐⭐

The Whispers of War - Book coverPublication Date: January 14, 2020
Publisher: Gallery Books
Paperback: 333 Pages


WHEN WAR COMES TO BRITAIN, THREE FRIENDS WILL HAVE THEIR LOYALTY TESTED

In August of 1939, as Britain watches the headlines in fear of another devastating war with Germany, three childhood friends must choose between friendship or country. Erstwhile socialite Nora is determined to find her place in the Home Office’s Air Raid Precautions Department, matchmaker Hazel tries to mask two closely guarded secrets with irrepressible optimism, and German expat Marie worries that she and her family might face imprisonment in an internment camp if war is declared. When Germany invades Poland and tensions on the home front rise, Marie is labeled an enemy alien, and the three friends find themselves fighting together to keep her free at any cost.

“The Whispers of War is a beautifully told story, and a timely reminder that history works in chillingly familiar patterns. Julia Kelly writes gripping, moving historic fiction that’s not to be missed.” —Kelly Rimmer, author of The Things We Cannot Say

***

Three young women, friends since childhood, struggle to come to terms with the changes in their lives. Germany has invaded Poland and England is about to go to war.

These three young ladies are a determined bunch. Marie is originally from Germany. She has lived in England for most of her life. Now she is threatened with an internment camp. Her friends come together to make sure this does not happen! But, they have some tough decisions to make.

I loved Julia Kelly’s novel Light Over London. (It is definitely a 5-star read) But The Whispers of War fell short for me. I just felt like the story did not go anywhere. It is basically three young women worried about whether their German friend is going to be placed into an internment camp. I kept waiting for the story to have action and more intensity. This did not develop. But, it is well researched and I did learn some things about London during the beginning of WWII.

I received The Whispers of War from the publisher for my honest review.

reeca2 Add to GR Button



Distant Signs – Blog Tour

Distant Signs – Blog Tour

by Anne Richter

02 Distant SignsPublication Date: November 7, 2019
Neem Tree Press
Hardcover; 240 Pages
Genre: Historical Fiction/Romance/Saga


Distant Signs is an intimate portrait of two families spanning three generations amidst turbulent political change, behind and beyond the Berlin Wall. In 1960s East Germany, Margret, a professor’s daughter from the city, meets and marries Hans, from a small village in Thuringia. The couple struggle to contend with their different backgrounds, and the emotional scars they bear from childhood in the aftermath of war. As East German history gradually unravels, with collision of the personal and political, their two families’ hidden truths are quietly revealed. An exquisitely written novel with strongly etched characters that stay with you long after the book is finished and an authentic portrayal of family life behind the iron curtain based on personal experience of the author who is East German and was 16 years old at the fall of the Berlin Wall Continue reading “Distant Signs – Blog Tour”

Listen to the Wind – Review & Giveaway

Listen to the Wind – Review & Giveaway

by Susanne Dunlap

⭐⭐⭐

Listen To The Wind book coverPublication Date: April 22, 2019
Bellastoria Press
eBook & Paperback; 388 Pages
Series: The Orphans of Tolosa, Book 1
Genre: Historical Fiction/Medieval

Sent away from their families for their own protection when they were very young, Azemar and Azalaïs become separated when they are forced to flee from the band of outlaws who served as their supposed protectors. Armed only with scraps of memories and the wits and intelligence that have helped them survive brutal conditions, they struggle to find each other again and discover the mysterious past that links them across distance and time. Who are they? And do they hold the secret of the legendary Cathar treasure? All they know is that knights and monks spell danger, and they must find a way to survive at all costs if they are to fulfill their destiny—and preserve their vanishing culture. Continue reading “Listen to the Wind – Review & Giveaway”

Someone to Trust (Review)

by Mary Balogh

⭐⭐⭐

Someone to TrustDuring a rare white Christmas at Brambledean Court, the widow Elizabeth, Lady Overfield, defies convention by falling in love with a younger man in the latest novel in the Westcott series.

After her husband’s passing, Elizabeth Overfield decides that she must enter into another suitable marriage. That, however, is the last thing on her mind when she meets Colin Handrich, Lord Hodges, at the Westcott Christmas house party. She simply enjoys his company as they listen to carolers on Christmas Eve, walk home from church together on Christmas morning, and engage in a spirited snowball fight in the afternoon. Both are surprised when their sled topples them into a snowbank and they end up sharing an unexpected kiss. They know there is no question of any relationship between them, for she is nine years older than he. Continue reading “Someone to Trust (Review)”

The Little Shop of Found Things (Review)

by Paula Brackston

⭐⭐⭐

The Little Shop of Found Things book cover

Publication date: October 16, 2018
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

New York Times bestselling author of The Witch’s Daughter Paula Brackston returns to her trademark blend of magic and romance guaranteed to enchant in The Little Shop of Found Things, the first book in a new continuing series.

An antique shop haunted by a ghost.
A silver treasure with an injustice in its story.
An adventure to the past she’ll never forget.

Xanthe and her mother Flora leave London behind for a fresh start, taking over an antique shop in the historic town of Marlborough. Xanthe has always had an affinity with some of the antiques she finds. When she touches them, she can sense something of the past they come from and the stories they hold. When she has an intense connection to a beautiful silver chatelaine she has to know more.

(more…)

Deepest Blue (Review)

by Mindy Tarquini

⭐⭐⭐

Deepest Blue“Tarquini spins a haunting lyrical fantasy dealing with love, loss, and political turmoil…” Publishers Weekly

For fans of Paulo Coelho and Neil Gaiman comes a magical story by critically acclaimed author Mindy Tarquini.

In Panduri, an enchanted city seen only at twilight, everyone’s path is mapped, everyone’s destiny decided, their lives charted at birth and steered by an unwavering star. Everyone has his place, and Matteo, second son of Panduri’s duca, is eager to take up his as Legendary Protector–at the border and out from under his father’s domineering thumb. Then Matteo’s older brother pulls rank and heads to the border in his stead, leaving Panduri’s orbit in a spiral and Matteo’s course on a skid. Forced to follow an unexpected path, resentful and raw, Matteo is determined to rise, to pursue the one future Panduri’s star can never chart: a life of his own. Continue reading “Deepest Blue (Review)”