He Started It

He Started It

He Started It book cover

A Novel
by Samantha Downing

On Sale: July 21, 2020
Publisher: Berkley
Print Lenght: 400 Pages

After the mega-success of her first novel, Samantha Downing returns with He Started It, the story of a family not unlike your own… with a few more violent tendencies thrown in.

Beth, Portia, and Eddie Morgan haven’t all been together in years. And for very good reasons—we’ll get to those later. But when their wealthy grandfather dies and leaves a cryptic final message in his wake, the siblings and their respective partners must come together for a cross-country road trip to fulfill his final wish and—more importantly—secure their inheritance.

(more…)
The Marriage Game

The Marriage Game


The Marriage Game book coverA Novel
by Sara Desai

On Sale: June 9, 2020
Publisher: Berkley
Paperback: 352 Pages


Sara Desai’s debut novel The Marriage Game is one of Oprah Magazine’s Most Anticipated Romances of 2020.

A high stakes wager pits an aspiring entrepreneur against a ruthless CEO in this sexy romantic comedy.

After her life falls apart, recruitment consultant Layla Patel returns home to her family in San Francisco. But in the eyes of her father, who runs a Michelin starred restaurant, she can do no wrong. He would do anything to see her smile again. With the best intentions in mind, he offers her the office upstairs to start her new business and creates a profile on an online dating site to find her a man. She doesn’t know he’s arranged a series of blind dates until the first one comes knocking on her door…

(more…)
Happy And You Know It

Happy And You Know It


Happy and You Know It book coverA Novel
by Laura Hankin

On Sale: May 19, 2020
Publisher: Berkley
Paperback: 384 Pages


(more…)
Beach Read

Beach Read

Beach read book cover

A Novel
by Emily Henry

On Sale: May 19, 2020
Publisher: Berkley 
Paperback: 384 Pages


Perfect for fans of Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game, Beach Read is a must-add to your beach bag this summer.

A romance writer who no longer believes in love and a literary writer stuck in a rut engage in a summer-long challenge that may just upend everything they believe about happily ever afters.

Augustus Everett is an acclaimed author of literary fiction. January Andrews writes bestselling romance. When she pens a happily ever after, he kills off his entire cast.

They’re polar opposites.

In fact, the only thing they have in common is that for the next three months, they’re living in neighboring beach houses, broke, and bogged down with writer’s block.

Until, one hazy evening, one thing leads to another and they strike a deal designed to force them out of their creative ruts: Augustus will spend the summer writing something happy, and January will pen the next Great American Novel. She’ll take him on field trips worthy of any rom-com montage, and he’ll take her to interview surviving members of a backwoods death cult (obviously). Everyone will finish a book and no one will fall in love. Really.

Goodreads button

Amazon e1588834654345


About the author

Emily Henry writes stories about love and family for both teens and adults. She studied creative writing at Hope College and the New York Center for Art & Media Studies, and now spends most of her time in Cincinnati, Ohio, and the part of Kentucky just beneath it.

Find her on Instagram @EmilyHenryWrites

Praise

Beach Read by Emily Henry has everything the title promises–a romping plot, family secrets, and the thrill of falling in love, all set on the sweeping shores of eastern Lake Michigan. I cannot wait to read what Henry writes next.” —Amy E. Reichert, author The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and The Optimist’s Guide to Letting Go

Read more

“Reader, I swooned!  Beach Read is a breath of fresh air. My heart ached for January, and Gus is to die for – a steamy, smart and perceptive romance. I was engrossed!”—Josie Silver, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One Day in December

“This is a touching and heartfelt book about love, betrayal, grief, failure, and learning how to love again. I adored going along on Gus and January’s journey, and I closed this book with a satisfied sigh.”—Jasmine Guillory, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Proposal

“Beach Read is original, sparkling bright, and layered with feeling. Has trying to see the world through your long time crush/rival’s eyes ever been this potent and poignant? If whipcrack banter and foggy sexual tension is your catnip, you’ll adore this book.”—Sally Thorne, USA Today bestselling author of The Hating Game and 99 Percent Mine

“Beach Read is exactly the witty, charming, and swoony novel we always want; it also happens to be the unexpected wallop of emotional wisdom and sly social commentary we need right now. I adored it.” —Julia Whelan, author of My Oxford Year
 
“Delightfully romantic and slyly poignant, Beach Read is brimming with crackling banter and engrossing prose. It has every flavor of booklover catnip: rivalry, creative struggle, family secrets, and the sweet head-over-heels tumble into love. Emily Henry’s Beach Read is 2020’s perfect anywhere read.”—Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners

“If you liked Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game and Linda Holmes’s Evvie Drake Starts Over, you will definitely be into this, which feels like their spawn. (No one asked me to say this, by the way. I’m just high on that happy-sad feeling of finishing a book I enjoyed, that I wish wasn’t over.) Well played.”—Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, best-selling authors of The Royal We

“Readers are sure to fall hard for this meta, heartfelt take on the romance genre.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A heartfelt look at taking second chances, in life and in love.”—Kirkus Reviews

“This will still sweep readers off their feet. January’s first-person narration is suitably poetic and effervescent, the small-town beach setting is charming, and the romance is achingly swoony.”—Booklist


RECOMMENDED FOR YOU


RELATED POST

The Last Train To Key West

The Last Train To Key West


The Last Train To Key West book coverA Novel
by Chanel Cleeton

On Sale: June 16, 2020
Publisher: Berkley 
Paperback: 320 Pages


Chanel Cleeton, author of the Reese’s Book Club pick, Next Year in Havana and the instant New York Times bestseller When We Left Cuba, comes with a new historical fiction novel, The Last Train To Key West.

In 1935 three women are forever changed when one of the most powerful hurricanes in history barrels toward the Florida Keys.
 
For the tourists traveling on Henry Flagler’s legendary Overseas Railroad, Labor Day weekend is an opportunity to forget the economic depression gripping the nation. But one person’s paradise can be another’s prison, and Key West-native Helen Berner yearns to escape.

(more…)
When We Left Cuba (Review)

When We Left Cuba (Review)

by Chanel Cleeton

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

When We Left Cuba book cover

Publication date: April 9, 2019
Paperback: 368 pages
Publisher: Berkley


Chanel Cleeton, author of Next Year In Havana, a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick, returns with When We Left Cuba, another mesmerizing historical novel.

1960s Florida, a young Cuban exile will risk her life–and heart–to take back her country.

Beautiful. Daring. Deadly.

The Cuban Revolution took everything from sugar heiress Beatriz Perez–her family, her people, her country. Recruited by the CIA to infiltrate Fidel Castro’s inner circle and pulled into the dangerous world of espionage, Beatriz is consumed by her quest for revenge and her desire to reclaim the life she lost.
As the Cold War swells like a hurricane over the shores of the Florida Strait, Beatriz is caught between the clash of Cuban American politics and the perils of a forbidden affair with a powerful man driven by ambitions of his own. When the ever-changing tides of history threaten everything she has fought for, she must make a choice between her past and future–but the wrong move could cost Beatriz everything–not just the island she loves, but also the man who has stolen her heart…

 

***

There are stories…and Stories. When We Left Cuba belongs to the second ones.

I had such good vibes when I started reading this novel, probably because I loved Next Year in Havana so much, or because the premises Beatriz would have been such a fantastic character have always been there in my mind. Continue reading “When We Left Cuba (Review)”