Deepest Blue (Review)

by Mindy Tarquini

⭐⭐⭐

“Tarquini spins a haunting lyrical fantasy dealing with love, loss, and political turmoil…” Publishers Weekly

For fans of Paulo Coelho and Neil Gaiman comes a magical story by critically acclaimed author Mindy Tarquini.

In Panduri, an enchanted city seen only at twilight, everyone’s path is mapped, everyone’s destiny decided, their lives charted at birth and steered by an unwavering star. Everyone has his place, and Matteo, second son of Panduri’s duca, is eager to take up his as Legendary Protector–at the border and out from under his father’s domineering thumb. Then Matteo’s older brother pulls rank and heads to the border in his stead, leaving Panduri’s orbit in a spiral and Matteo’s course on a skid. Forced to follow an unexpected path, resentful and raw, Matteo is determined to rise, to pursue the one future Panduri’s star can never chart: a life of his own. Continue reading “Deepest Blue (Review)”

Share your love:
100
Review rating

🎉Happy Book Birthday to He Loves You Not by Tara Brown! 🎈

Take the “Fidelity Test” with Tara Brown’s He Loves You Not

 

My newest release is He Loves You Not!
 
The high concept romance is centered around Lacey Winters, my hard working and slightly devious heroine.
 
She’s intelligent, fun, and absolutely gorgeous inside and out.
 
Her main love in life is her brother Martin, who at the start of the novel is diagnosed with something terrible.
The sickness puts Lacey into a bit of a tailspin. Not only is her favorite person in the world sick, but the availability of her funds for her final year of college come into question.
 
Not that she would ever complain, the money is going to a worthy cause.
 
But Lacey needs to graduate. Her dream job is awaiting her.
 
Which means nothing will stop Lacey from finding the money. She’s ingenious, crafty, and surrounded by the wealthy elite of Manhattan. All she needs is a plan.
As if God handed her the idea himself, the week she is desperate for an idea, one lands in her lap. Most of her friends are dating guys Lacey has questioned at one point or another, and that week one is being particularly shady.
 
With the help of her brother, Lacey puts that questioning into practical application—a fidelity testing company called The Test Dummy.
 
What she doesn’t expect is that the idea will hit home with so many of Manhattan’s upper crust. But it does.
 
And pretty soon, business is good.
 
Too good.
 
Which is where everything goes wrong, and right.
 
Fidelity testing is how Jordan Summers is brought into her life, even if it’s to test him for his socialite girlfriend.
 
The number one rule of the company was don’t get caught.
 
After meeting Jordan, it quickly changes to don’t fall for the clients.
 
But nothing is easy in love and war.
 
And make no mistake, Jordan Summers is at war.
 
His father has decided to use him in a plot to get a huge investment from a family friend, by hooking Jordan and the man’s daughter up.
 
The daughter couldn’t be less interested in the relationship and Jordan is desperate to get out of it. Desperate enough to hire the hot new fidelity testing company under the guise he’s his new girlfriend then make himself look guilty.
 
It’s a brilliant plan.
 
What he doesn’t know is the company is owned and operated by the girl he’s chasing and that his infidelity will question everything she thinks she knows about him.
 
This tale is high drama, loads of angst, and laughing out loud for hours.
 
You won’t want to miss this one!

Continue reading “🎉Happy Book Birthday to He Loves You Not by Tara Brown! 🎈”

Share your love:
100
Review rating

🎉Happy Book Birthday to A Brand New Ending by Jennifer Probst! 🎈(plus a giveaway)

Kyle’s Top 5 Memories With Ophelia from A Brand New Ending by Jennifer Probst

In A Brand New Ending, Kyle Kimpton and Ophelia Bishop are only eighteen years old when they decide to run away together to pursue their dreams. Leaving the family farm behind, they escape to Hollywood to get married and chase their careers. Kyle plans on being a famous writer, and Ophelia longs to be a singer as great as Adele. Unfortunately, their paths diverge and rip apart their relationship. As Kyle thrives in Hollwyood as the new hotshot screenwriter in town, Ophelia falters when she realizes in order to be famous in the music industry, she needs to change who she is. Choices are made that rip them apart, and Ophelia returns to the family farm with her heart shattered and dreams destroyed. Continue reading “🎉Happy Book Birthday to A Brand New Ending by Jennifer Probst! 🎈(plus a giveaway)”

Share your love:
100
Review rating

Other People’s Houses (Review)

by Abbi Waxman

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The author of The Garden of Small Beginnings returns with a hilarious and poignant new novel about four families, their neighborhood carpool, and the affair that changes everything.

At any given moment in other people’s houses, you can find…repressed hopes and dreams…moments of unexpected joy…someone making love on the floor to a man who is most definitely not her husband…

*record scratch*

As the longtime local carpool mom, Frances Bloom is sometimes an unwilling witness to her neighbors’ private lives. She knows her cousin is hiding her desire for another baby from her spouse, Bill Horton’s wife is mysteriously missing, and now this…

After the shock of seeing Anne Porter in all her extramarital glory, Frances vows to stay in her own lane. But that’s a notion easier said than done when Anne’s husband throws her out a couple of days later. Continue reading “Other People’s Houses (Review)”

Share your love:
100
Review rating

Christmas at the Chalet (Review)

by Anita Hughes

⭐⭐⭐⭐

A delicious love story about a bridal designer showing her new collection in the Alps during the magical week of Christmas where hijinx of the heart ensue.

It’s the day after Christmas, and Felicity Grant is at a gorgeous ski chalet in St. Moritz for the biggest fashion show of her career. Felicity is a rising star on the bridal design scene, and this is her best collection yet. But when her boyfriend gives her a spa day instead of a diamond ring for Christmas, she has to face the possibility that she may never walk down the aisle in one of her own stunning designs.

And then there’s Nell, the top model headlining Felicity’s show. Nell is planning her dream wedding to her wonderful fiance with one catch: her divorced parents can’t stand each other and threaten to no-show if the other is there.

Add to that Felicity’s race against the clock to create a special gown for a prestigious bridal salon, and what both girls need is a Christmas miracle. What better place to find one than in the Swiss Alps with its dark forests and sparkling vistas? Continue reading “Christmas at the Chalet (Review)”

Share your love:
100
Review rating

The Girl They Left Behind (Review)

by Roxanne Veletzos

⭐⭐⭐⭐

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.

On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation.

Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. Continue reading “The Girl They Left Behind (Review)”

Share your love:
100
Review rating