Feels Like Falling

Feels Like Falling


Feels Like Falling Book coverA Novel
by Kristy Woodson Harvey

On Sale: April 28, 2020
Publisher: Gallery Books 
Paperback: 397 Pages


From “the next major voice in Southern fiction” (Elin Hilderbrand) and the bestselling author of the Peachtree Bluff series comes Feels Like Falling, an odd-couple tale of friendship that asks just how much our past choices define our happiness.

It’s summertime on the North Carolina coast and the livin’ is easy.

Unless, that is, you’ve just lost your mother to cancer, your sister to her extremist husband, and your husband to his executive assistant. Meet Gray Howard. Right when Gray could use a serious infusion of good karma in her life, she inadvertently gets a stranger, Diana Harrington, fired from her job at the local pharmacy.

Diana Harrington’s summer isn’t off to the greatest start either: Hours before losing her job, she broke up with her boyfriend and moved out of their shared house with only a worn-out Impala for a bed. Lucky for her, Gray has an empty guest house and a very guilty conscience.

With Gray’s kindness, Diana’s tide begins to turn. But when her first love returns, every secret from her past seems to resurface all at once. And, as Gray begins to blaze a new trail, she discovers, with Diana’s help, that what she envisioned as her perfect life may not be what she wants at all.

In her warmest, wisest novel yet, Kristy Woodson Harvey delivers a discerning portrait of modern womanhood through two vastly different lenses. Feels Like Falling is a beach bag essential for Harvey fans—and for a new generation of readers.

Goodreads button

Amazon e1588834654345


About the author

Kristy Woodson Harvey is the bestselling author of Dear Carolina, Lies and Other Acts of Love, Slightly South of Simple, The Secret To Southern Charm and The Southern Side of Paradise.

Kristy is the winner of the Lucy Bramlette Patterson Award for Excellence in Creative Writing, a finalist for the Southern Book Prize, her work has been optioned for film and her books have received numerous accolades 

For more about Kristy, check her website HERE!

Praise

“Two women in turmoil, two lives at a crossroads. Only Kristy Woodson Harvey can make sense of the sometimes devastating, often-times delicious dilemmas faced by the protagonists of her newest perfect beach read Feels Like Falling. Readers will fall in love with entrepreneur Gray, whose husband’s betrayal leaves her feeling adrift and looking for something beyond career success, while plucky down-and-out Diana will win the hearts of those of us who always root for the underdog. Buckle up, buttercups, because Feels Like Falling feels like your next summer sizzler!” —Mary Kay Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Sunset BeachThe High Tide Club, and The Weekenders

Read more

“Kristy Woodson Harvey has the voice of a best friend; a storyteller of the finest sort. Feels Like Falling takes us on a page-turning journey with two very different women who must somehow find their way together. Harvey asks the important question — how do we let go of the preconceived notions of our life ? And she answers that question with lyrical prose, an uncommon wisdom and a sharp wit. This is more than a novel about friendship, it is also a story for friendship: you will find yourself sharing it with everyone you love. Dive in; the storytelling is delicious!” —Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times Bestselling author of Becoming Mrs. Lewis  

“Harvey creates genuine, capable, flawed protagonists and fun secondary characters, and readers will appreciate the thoughtful depiction of women supporting one another in an easy, breezy story. Fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Mary Alice Monroe should add this to their beach read lists.” Booklist

“In pitch-perfect tones, Harvey creates two Southern women doing their best to deal with everything life throws at them, and her able plotting will keep readers turning the pages…Harvey’s optimistic tale just might convince readers that bouncing back can actually land a person in a better place than where they started.” Publishers Weekly

PRAISE FOR KRISTY WOODSON HARVEY

“A major new voice in southern fiction.” —Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times bestselling author

“[A] rising star of southern fiction.” —Mary Alice Monroe, New York Times bestselling author

“Kristy Woodson Harvey really knows how to tell a southern tale.” —Cathy Lamb, New York Times bestselling author

“One of the hottest new southern writers.” —Parade

“My prediction is that writers come and writers go, but Kristy Woodson Harvey is here to stay.”  The Huffington Post


RECOMMENDED FOR YOU


RELATED POST

The Whispers of War – Book Review

The Whispers of War – Book Review

by Julia Kelly

⭐⭐⭐

The Whispers of War - Book coverPublication Date: January 14, 2020
Publisher: Gallery Books
Paperback: 333 Pages


WHEN WAR COMES TO BRITAIN, THREE FRIENDS WILL HAVE THEIR LOYALTY TESTED

In August of 1939, as Britain watches the headlines in fear of another devastating war with Germany, three childhood friends must choose between friendship or country. Erstwhile socialite Nora is determined to find her place in the Home Office’s Air Raid Precautions Department, matchmaker Hazel tries to mask two closely guarded secrets with irrepressible optimism, and German expat Marie worries that she and her family might face imprisonment in an internment camp if war is declared. When Germany invades Poland and tensions on the home front rise, Marie is labeled an enemy alien, and the three friends find themselves fighting together to keep her free at any cost.

“The Whispers of War is a beautifully told story, and a timely reminder that history works in chillingly familiar patterns. Julia Kelly writes gripping, moving historic fiction that’s not to be missed.” —Kelly Rimmer, author of The Things We Cannot Say

***

Three young women, friends since childhood, struggle to come to terms with the changes in their lives. Germany has invaded Poland and England is about to go to war.

These three young ladies are a determined bunch. Marie is originally from Germany. She has lived in England for most of her life. Now she is threatened with an internment camp. Her friends come together to make sure this does not happen! But, they have some tough decisions to make.

I loved Julia Kelly’s novel Light Over London. (It is definitely a 5-star read) But The Whispers of War fell short for me. I just felt like the story did not go anywhere. It is basically three young women worried about whether their German friend is going to be placed into an internment camp. I kept waiting for the story to have action and more intensity. This did not develop. But, it is well researched and I did learn some things about London during the beginning of WWII.

I received The Whispers of War from the publisher for my honest review.

reeca2 Add to GR Button



Behind Every Lie – Book Review

Behind Every Lie – Book Review

by Christina McDonald

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

behind every lie book coverPublication Date: February 4, 2020
Publisher: Gallery Books
Paperback: 334 Pages

With Behind Every Lie, Christina McDonald, author of The Night Olivia Fell returns with a thrilling new suspense novel about the insidious nature of family secrets…and their deadly potential.

If you can’t remember it, how do you prove you didn’t do it?

Eva Hansen wakes in the hospital after being struck by lightning and discovers her mother, Kat, has been murdered. Eva was found unconscious down the street. She can’t remember what happened but the police are highly suspicious of her.

Determined to clear her name, Eva heads from Seattle to London—Kat’s former home—for answers. But as she unravels her mother’s carefully held secrets, Eva soon realizes that someone doesn’t want her to know the truth. And with violent memories beginning to emerge, Eva doesn’t know who to trust. Least of all herself.

Continue reading “Behind Every Lie – Book Review”

Love and Other Words – Book Review

Love and Other Words – Book Review

by Christina Lauren

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Love and Other Words book cover

Publication Date: April 10, 2018
Publisher: Gallery Books
Paperback: 433 Pages


In Christina Lauren’s new novel, Love and Other Words, love, loss, friendship, and the betrayals of the past all collide. The story of the heart can never be unwritten.

Macy Sorensen is settling into an ambitious if emotionally tepid routine: work hard as a new pediatrics resident, plan her wedding to an older, financially secure man, keep her head down and heart tucked away. But when she runs into Elliot Petropoulos—the first and only love of her life—the careful bubble she’s constructed begins to dissolve. Once upon a time, Elliot was Macy’s entire world—growing from her gangly bookish friend into the man who coaxed her heart open again after the loss of her mother…only to break it on the very night he declared his love for her. Told in alternating timelines between Then and Now, teenage Elliot and Macy grow from friends to much more—spending weekends and lazy summers together in a house outside of San Francisco devouring books, sharing favorite words, and talking through their growing pains and triumphs.

(more…)
The Southern Side of Paradise – book review

The Southern Side of Paradise – book review

by Kristy Woodson Harvey

⭐⭐⭐⭐

The Southern Side of Paradise book coverPublication Date: May 7, 2019
Gallery Books
Paperback: 400 Pages

From internationally bestselling author and “rising star of Southern fiction” (Mary Alice Monroe, New York Times bestselling author) Kristy Woodson Harvey comes the third novel in her Peachtree Bluff series, in which a secret threatens the tight-knit bond between a trio of sisters and their mother.

With the man of her dreams back in her life and all three of her daughters happy, Ansley Murphy should be content. But she can’t help but feel like it’s all a little too good to be true.

Meanwhile, youngest daughter and actress Emerson, who is recently engaged and has just landed the role of a lifetime, seemingly has the world by the tail. Only, something she can’t quite put her finger on is worrying her—and it has nothing to do with her recent health scare.

When two new women arrive in Peachtree Bluff—one who has the potential to wreck Ansley’s happiness and one who could tear Emerson’s world apart—everything is put in perspective. And after secrets that were never meant to be told come to light, the powerful bond between the Murphy sisters and their mother comes crumbling down, testing their devotion to each other and forcing them to evaluate the meaning of family. Continue reading “The Southern Side of Paradise – book review”

City of Flickering Light – Book Review

City of Flickering Light – Book Review

by Juliette Fay

⭐⭐⭐⭐

City of Flickering Light book cover
Publication date: April 16, 2019
Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Gallery Books

With City of Flickering Light, Juliette Fay—“one of the best authors of women’s fiction” (Library Journal)—transports us back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and the raucous Roaring Twenties, as three friends struggle to earn their places among the stars of the silent screen—perfect for fans of La La Land and Rules of Civility.

It’s July 1921, “flickers” are all the rage, and Irene Van Beck has just declared her own independence by jumping off a moving train to escape her fate in a traveling burlesque show. When her friends, fellow dancer Millie Martin and comedian Henry Weiss, leap after her, the trio finds their way to the bright lights of Hollywood with hopes of making it big in the burgeoning silent film industry.

At first glance, Hollywood in the 1920s is like no other place on earth—iridescent, scandalous, and utterly exhilarating—and the three friends yearn for a life they could only have dreamed of before. Continue reading “City of Flickering Light – Book Review”