Beach Read

Beach read book cover

A Novel
by Emily Henry

On Sale: May 19, 2020
Publisher: Berkley 
Paperback: 384 Pages


Perfect for fans of Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game, Beach Read is a must-add to your beach bag this summer.

A romance writer who no longer believes in love and a literary writer stuck in a rut engage in a summer-long challenge that may just upend everything they believe about happily ever afters.

Augustus Everett is an acclaimed author of literary fiction. January Andrews writes bestselling romance. When she pens a happily ever after, he kills off his entire cast.

They’re polar opposites.

In fact, the only thing they have in common is that for the next three months, they’re living in neighboring beach houses, broke, and bogged down with writer’s block.

Until, one hazy evening, one thing leads to another and they strike a deal designed to force them out of their creative ruts: Augustus will spend the summer writing something happy, and January will pen the next Great American Novel. She’ll take him on field trips worthy of any rom-com montage, and he’ll take her to interview surviving members of a backwoods death cult (obviously). Everyone will finish a book and no one will fall in love. Really.

Goodreads button

Amazon e1588834654345


About the author

Emily Henry writes stories about love and family for both teens and adults. She studied creative writing at Hope College and the New York Center for Art & Media Studies, and now spends most of her time in Cincinnati, Ohio, and the part of Kentucky just beneath it.

Find her on Instagram @EmilyHenryWrites

Praise

Beach Read by Emily Henry has everything the title promises–a romping plot, family secrets, and the thrill of falling in love, all set on the sweeping shores of eastern Lake Michigan. I cannot wait to read what Henry writes next.” —Amy E. Reichert, author The Coincidence of Coconut Cake and The Optimist’s Guide to Letting Go

Read more

“Reader, I swooned!  Beach Read is a breath of fresh air. My heart ached for January, and Gus is to die for – a steamy, smart and perceptive romance. I was engrossed!”—Josie Silver, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One Day in December

“This is a touching and heartfelt book about love, betrayal, grief, failure, and learning how to love again. I adored going along on Gus and January’s journey, and I closed this book with a satisfied sigh.”—Jasmine Guillory, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Proposal

“Beach Read is original, sparkling bright, and layered with feeling. Has trying to see the world through your long time crush/rival’s eyes ever been this potent and poignant? If whipcrack banter and foggy sexual tension is your catnip, you’ll adore this book.”—Sally Thorne, USA Today bestselling author of The Hating Game and 99 Percent Mine

“Beach Read is exactly the witty, charming, and swoony novel we always want; it also happens to be the unexpected wallop of emotional wisdom and sly social commentary we need right now. I adored it.” —Julia Whelan, author of My Oxford Year
 
“Delightfully romantic and slyly poignant, Beach Read is brimming with crackling banter and engrossing prose. It has every flavor of booklover catnip: rivalry, creative struggle, family secrets, and the sweet head-over-heels tumble into love. Emily Henry’s Beach Read is 2020’s perfect anywhere read.”—Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners

“If you liked Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game and Linda Holmes’s Evvie Drake Starts Over, you will definitely be into this, which feels like their spawn. (No one asked me to say this, by the way. I’m just high on that happy-sad feeling of finishing a book I enjoyed, that I wish wasn’t over.) Well played.”—Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, best-selling authors of The Royal We

“Readers are sure to fall hard for this meta, heartfelt take on the romance genre.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A heartfelt look at taking second chances, in life and in love.”—Kirkus Reviews

“This will still sweep readers off their feet. January’s first-person narration is suitably poetic and effervescent, the small-town beach setting is charming, and the romance is achingly swoony.”—Booklist


RECOMMENDED FOR YOU


RELATED POST

The Summer Deal

The Summer Deal


The Summer Deal book coverA Novel
by Jill Shalvis

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

On Sale: June 2, 2020
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Paperback: 384 Pages


New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes with a new beach read. The Summer Deal is a friends-to-frenemies-to-lovers story…

Add in a few secrets. Shake. Stir.

Then read on a lazy summer day at the beach…

Brynn Turner desperately wishes she had it together, but her personal life is like a ping-pong match that’s left her scared and hurt after so many attempts to get it right. In search of a place to lick her wounds and get a fresh start, she heads back home to Wildstone.

And then there’s Kinsey Davis, who after battling serious health issues her entire twenty-nine years of life, is tired of hoping for . . . well, anything. She’s fierce, tough, and she’s keeping more than one bombshell of a secret from Brynn — her long-time frenemy.

(more…)
Love and Other Words – Book Review

Love and Other Words – Book Review

by Christina Lauren

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Love and Other Words book cover

Publication Date: April 10, 2018
Publisher: Gallery Books
Paperback: 433 Pages


In Christina Lauren’s new novel, Love and Other Words, love, loss, friendship, and the betrayals of the past all collide. The story of the heart can never be unwritten.

Macy Sorensen is settling into an ambitious if emotionally tepid routine: work hard as a new pediatrics resident, plan her wedding to an older, financially secure man, keep her head down and heart tucked away. But when she runs into Elliot Petropoulos—the first and only love of her life—the careful bubble she’s constructed begins to dissolve. Once upon a time, Elliot was Macy’s entire world—growing from her gangly bookish friend into the man who coaxed her heart open again after the loss of her mother…only to break it on the very night he declared his love for her. Told in alternating timelines between Then and Now, teenage Elliot and Macy grow from friends to much more—spending weekends and lazy summers together in a house outside of San Francisco devouring books, sharing favorite words, and talking through their growing pains and triumphs.

(more…)
The Year I Left – Blog Tour & Giveaway

The Year I Left – Blog Tour & Giveaway

by Christine Brae

YearPublished by: Vesuvian Books
Publication date: August 20th 2019
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Women’s Fiction


“A thousand half loves must be forsaken to take one whole heart home.”

Carin Frost doesn’t understand what’s happening to her. A confident businesswoman, wife, and mother, she begins to resent everything about her life. Nothing makes sense. Nothing makes her feel. Maybe it’s the recent loss of her mother in a tragic accident. Or maybe she’s just losing her mind.

Enter Matias Torres. As their new business partnership thrives, so does their friendship—and his interest in her. Carin is determined to keep her distance, until a work assignment sends them to Southeast Asia where a storm is brewing on the island. In the midst of the chaos, Matias asks her to do something unimaginable, exhilarating, BOLD. Carin knows the consequences could be dire, but it may be the only way to save herself.

An honest look at love and marriage and the frailties of the human heart, this is a story of a woman’s loss of self and purpose and the journey she takes to find her way back.

Continue reading “The Year I Left – Blog Tour & Giveaway”

Love And Other Mistakes – Blog Tour (Review)

Love And Other Mistakes – Blog Tour (Review)

banner loveothermistakes blog jr
Welcome to the Blog Tour for Love and Other Mistakes by Jessica Kate, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!


About the book

⭐⭐⭐⭐

loveandothermistakesTitle: Love and Other Mistakes
Author:
Jessica Kate
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Release Date:
July 30, 2019
Genre: Romantic Comedy


There’s a fine line between love and hate . . . And for the last seven years, Natalie Groves has hated Jeremy Walters.

Natalie Groves was meant for great things. But soon after her fiancé left, Natalie’s father was diagnosed with cancer. Suddenly her grand plans evaporated . . . and God felt very far away.

Fast-forward seven years, and an internship presents Natalie a chance at her destiny—but she needs a job to work around it. And the only offer available is worse than a life sentence. Her ex Jeremy, now back in town, is desperate for help with his infant son and troubled teenage niece, Lili. And Natalie may be just the one to help Jeremy . . . provided they don’t kill each other in the process.

When Jeremy and Natalie join forces, sparks fly. But will either of them get burned along the way? Continue reading “Love And Other Mistakes – Blog Tour (Review)”

Underestimating Miss Cecilia – Blog Blitz

Underestimating Miss Cecilia – Blog Blitz

Cover_Twitter_UnderestimatingMissCecilia_JRWelcome to the Blitz for Underestimating Miss Cecilia by Carolyn Miller with JustRead Publicity Tours!


ABOUT THE BOOK

underestimating miss ceciliaTitle: Underestimating Miss Cecilia
Series: Regency Brides: Daughters of Aynsley, Book 2
Author: Carolyn Miller
Publisher: Kregel Publications
Release Date:
July 23, 2019
Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Shy, sweet Cecilia Hatherleigh has always been in love with Edward Amherst, the boy next door. Yet he’s never seen her as anything but the quiet girl in the background as he flirts with the other vivacious women of the ton.

When a near tragedy brings Edward’s attention to his family duties, this prodigal son decides he needs to settle down with a proper wife. Cecilia hopes to convince him to choose her—but God may want her to forget the wayward nobleman and put her future in His hands alone.

These two try to find their way toward happiness, but prejudice, political riots, and the changing face of England’s societal structures begin to block them at every turn. Can their struggles turn to triumph—or will their paths permanently diverge? Continue reading “Underestimating Miss Cecilia – Blog Blitz”