10 Historical Fiction Books for your TBR


Here at Comet Readings, we love historical fiction books and what we love most is recommending those we found poignant, compelling, and heartbreaking and that we think you should absolutely read because no matter how hyped they are, these stories and their characters have now a special place in our heart and we hope you’ll love them as much as we did.
Enjoy!

Next Year In Havana

by Chanel Cleeton

With this book, Chanel Cleeton delivers a poignant, resonant, and unforgettable novel about love, painful losses, sacrifices, and courage at different times of the Cuban history thanks to an engaging narration that alternates memories of Elisa’s past and the present life of her granddaughter, Marisol.
After Elisa’s death, Marisol decides to honor her last wish and take Abuela’s ashes to Cuba, where her heart belonged. She arrives in Havana that is the same but also a completely different place from Elisa’s happy memories.
Marisol can perfectly recognize all the places her grandmother described along the years, but she also finds a country that pays the price of a totalitarian regime, from which her family escaped sixty years before.

Related: Next Year In Havana (Review)

Continue reading “10 Historical Fiction Books for your TBR”

The Girl They Left Behind (Review)

by Roxanne Veletzos

⭐⭐⭐⭐

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.

On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation.

Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. Continue reading “The Girl They Left Behind (Review)”

Roxanne Veletzos

About the author

 

Roxanne Veletzos was born in Bucharest, Romania and moved to California with her family as a young teen. Already fluent in English and French, she began writing short stories about growing up in her native Eastern Europe, at first as a cathartic experience as she transitioned to a new culture then simply to pursue what had become an unrelenting passion. Building on her love of the written language, she obtained a bachelor’s degree in journalism from California State University, Northridge and has worked as an editor, content writer and marketing manager for a number of Fortune 500 companies. Continue reading “Roxanne Veletzos”