The Night Shift

This post may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through these links, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a small commission.

The Night Shift book cover

by Alex Finlay

Publication Date: March 1, 2022
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Hardcover: 320 Pages

Publisher Description


From the author of the breakout thriller Every Last Fear, comes Alex Finlay’s electrifying next novel The Night Shift, about a pair of small-town murders fifteen years apart―and the ties that bind them.

“The night was expected to bring tragedy.” So begins one of the most highly-anticipated thrillers in recent years.

It’s New Year’s Eve 1999. Y2K is expected to end in chaos: planes falling from the sky, elevators plunging to earth, world markets collapsing. A digital apocalypse. None of that happens. But at a Blockbuster Video in New Jersey, four teenagers working late at the store are attacked. Only one inexplicably survives. Police quickly identify a suspect, the boyfriend of one of the victims, who flees and is never seen again.

Fifteen years later, more teenage employees are attacked at an ice cream store in the same town, and again only one makes it out alive.

In the aftermath of the latest crime, three lives intersect: the lone survivor of the Blockbuster massacre who’s forced to relive the horrors of her tragedy; the brother of the fugitive accused, who’s convinced the police have the wrong suspect; and FBI agent Sarah Keller who must delve into the secrets of both nights―stirring up memories of teen love and lies―to uncover the truth about murders on the night shift.

Twisty, poignant, and redemptive, The Night Shift is a story about the legacy of trauma and how the broken can come out on the other side, and it solidifies Finlay as one of the new leading voices in the world of thrillers.

About the author

Alex Finlay is the pseudonym of an author who lives in Washington, D.C. His 2021 breakout thriller, Every Last Fear, was an Indie Next pick, a LibraryReads selection, an Amazon Editor’s Best Thriller. Alex’s work has been translated into more than a dozen languages and optioned for film and television.  

Read more about Alex ON HIS WEBSITE

Praise

The Night Shift weaves together two crimes, past and present, into a fast-paced, page-turning, slam-dunk of a thriller. An exciting, entertaining read that I couldn’t put down!” ―Samantha Downing, #1 Internationally bestselling author of My Lovely Wife and For Your Own Good

Read more

 

“Finlay does a fine job weaving the tangled lives and crimes together in a suspenseful tale… Thriller fans will eagerly await Finlay’s next.” Publishers Weekly

“Wow, this is crime fiction at it’s best. Instantly immersive, pacy and propulsive, and full of surprises. Alex Finlay is the real deal, believe me.” ―Lee Child, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

“With an unforgettable cast of characters and a plot that races through twist after twist, Alex Finlay’s explosive new thriller, The Night Shift, will grab you and not let go until the final, electrifying conclusion. I can’t remember the last time I tore through a book so fast, or how many times I thought I knew what was going on only to be proven wrong yet again. You know you’re in for a wild ride when one of the narrators ends up dead in the first chapter…Fans of Riley Sager and Grady Hendrix are going to LOVE this book.” ―Julie Clark, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight

“A terrific thriller, tautly written with compelling characters. I was totally hooked.” ―Peter James, New York Times Bestselling Author

.

ALSO IN 

MYSTERY & THRILLERS

RECOMMENDED POSTS