Twenty-Seven Minutes

This post may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through these links, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a small commission.

Twenty-Seven Minutes book cover

by Ashley Tate

Publication Date: January 30, 2024
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Hardcover: 384 Pages

Publisher Description

In this stunning and propulsive debut, a town grieves the loss of a young girl―but some fight to keep the truth about her death a secret. For fans of Jane Harper, Ashley Flowers, and Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng.

The question

For the last ten years, the small, claustrophobic town of West Wilmer has been struggling to understand one thing: Why did it take young Grant Dean twenty-seven minutes to call for help on the fateful night of the car accident that took the life of his beloved sister, Phoebe? If he’d called sooner, she might still be alive.

The secret

As the anniversary of Phoebe’s death approaches, Grant is consumed by memories of that night on the bridge and everything he lost: his future, his reputation, his little sister. And the secret he’s been keeping all these years is suffocating him. But he and Phoebe weren’t the only ones in the car that night. Becca was there. She knows what happened―and she will do anything to help Grant keep his secret.

The truth

Everyone in West Wilmer remembers Phoebe, but only June remembers that another person was lost that night. Her brother Wyatt has been missing for ten years and now June is alone―no family, no friends. Until someone appears at her door. Someone who may know where Wyatt went all those years ago. Someone who knows what really happened on the bridge that night. Someone who is ready to tell the truth.

Taking place over three days and culminating in a shocking twist that will leave you breathless, Twenty-Seven Minutes is a gripping story about what happens when grief becomes unbearable, dark secrets are unearthed, and the horrifying truth is revealed.

 

About the author

Ashley Tate worked for over a decade as an editorial writer and editor for various publications as well as Canada’s first online magazine. Twenty-Seven Minutes is her debut.

Praise

“Twenty-Seven Minutes is the rare gift that delivers it all: elevated prose, characters with depth, unpredictable twists, and a pitch-perfect mood that is wonderfully consuming. This story of a small town’s obsessive hold on a decade-old tragedy, as four people in its grip try to move on, is both poignant and pacy, an unforgettable portrait of grief and the darkest ties that bind. A must-read debut that marks Ashley Tate as a brilliant new voice in literary suspense.” ― Ashley Audrain, New York Times bestselling author of The Push

Read more

“Ashley Tate has written a masterful collision course of pain, sorrow, and grief that sliced open my veins and tore out my heart.” ― Samantha M. Bailey, USA Today bestselling author of Woman on the Edge and Watch Out for Her

“With her well-rounded characters, breakneck pacing, and emotional depth, Ashley Tate is a new thriller writer to watch.” ― Robyn Harding, international bestselling author

ALSO IN 

MYSTERY & THRILLERS

RECOMMENDED POSTS

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!

Looking for Book Club Recommendations?

Join now and get access to our exclusive content!

Become a Passionate Reader

Say YES to your reading routine!