The Other Mother

This post may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through these links, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a small commission.

The Other Mother book cover

A Novel
by Matthew Dicks

On Sale: January 12, 2021
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Hardcover: 320 Pages


Publisher Description

From the beloved author of Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend, comes The Other Mother, a novel about a teenage boy coping with the rupture of his family by viewing his mother in an unusual light.

The one he loves most, is the one he knows least.

Thirteen-year-old Michael Parsons is dealing with a lot. His father’s sudden death; his mother’s new husband, Glen, who he loathes; his two younger siblings, who he looks after more and more now that his mother works extra shifts.

And then one day, Michael wakes up and his mother is gone. In her place is an exact, duplicate mother. The ‘other mother’. No one else seems to notice the real version is missing. His brother, his sister, and even Glen act as if everything’s normal. But Michael knows in his heart that this mother is not his. And he begins to panic.

What follows is a big-hearted coming-of-age story of a boy struggling with an unusual disorder that poses unparalleled challenges—but also, as he discovers, offers him unique opportunities.

About the author

Mattew Dicks is a writer and elementary school teacher. He has been published in the Hartford Courant, featured at the Books on the Nightstand retreat, and is a Moth StorySLAM champion. He is the author of five previous novels including Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend, an international bestseller, and Twenty-one Truths About Love. His novels have been translated into more than 25 languages. Dicks lives in Newington, Connecticut, with his wife, Elysha, and their two children.

For more about Matthew, check his website HERE!

Praise

“The Other Mother celebrates the healing magic of friendship and reclaiming one’s self. Told in Michael’s wry, often anxious voice, this quietly triumphant feel-good novel addresses the burden of grief, the complications of family and the mysteries of first love.” –Shelf Awareness
Read more

“A touching coming-of-age tale. For fans of Mark Haddon’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Andrew David MacDonald’s When We Were Vikings.” –Library Journal

“Nearly impossible to put down… Filled with emotion, pain, and joy, The Other Mother is well worth the read.” –Associated Press

“Dicks offers a wistful and quietly moving portrait of a teenage boy keeping too many secrets… [His] bighearted, generous novel makes a strong case for empathy and for forgiveness―both toward others and toward oneself.” –Publishers Weekly

ALSO IN CONTEMPORARY FICTION

RECOMMENDED POSTS

SIGN UP FOR OUR BEST BOOK RECOMMENDATIONS!

.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.