Notice: Undefined index: id in /www/cometreadings_209/public/wp-content/plugins/seo-by-rank-math/includes/opengraph/class-image.php on line 130

The Cartographers

This post may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through these links, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a small commission.

The Cartographers book cover

by Peng Shepherd

Publication Date: March 15, 2022
Publisher: William Morrow
Hardcover: 400 Pages

Publisher Description

From the critically acclaimed author of The Book of M, a highly imaginative thriller about a young woman who discovers that a strange map in her deceased father’s belongings holds an incredible, deadly secret—one that will lead her on an extraordinary adventure and to the truth about her family’s dark history

What is the purpose of a map? 

Nell Young’s whole life and greatest passion is cartography. Her father, Dr. Daniel Young, is a legend in the field and Nell’s personal hero. But she hasn’t seen or spoken to him ever since he cruelly fired her and destroyed her reputation after an argument over an old, cheap gas station highway map.

But when Dr. Young is found dead in his office at the New York Public Library, with the very same seemingly worthless map hidden in his desk, Nell can’t resist investigating. To her surprise, she soon discovers that the map is incredibly valuable and exceedingly rare. In fact, she may now have the only copy left in existence . . . because a mysterious collector has been hunting down and destroying every last one—along with anyone who gets in the way.

But why?

To answer that question, Nell embarks on a dangerous journey to reveal a dark family secret and discovers the true power that lies in maps . . .

Perfect for fans of Joe Hill and V. E. Schwab, The Cartographers is an ode to art and science, history and magic—a spectacularly imaginative, modern story about an ancient craft and places still undiscovered.

About the author

Peng Shepherd was born and raised in Phoenix, Arizona, where she rode horses and trained in classical ballet. She earned her MFA in creative writing from New York University, and has lived in Beijing; London; Los Angeles; Washington, D.C.; Philadelphia; and New York City. The Book of M is her first novel.

Read more about Peng ON HER WEBSITE

Praise

“In this dark fable . . . deadly secrets and gothic-inflected speculative fiction ensue.”-Literary Hub“Cleverly imagined…. With an elaborately realized plot, fanatic cartographers, maps with surreal powers generated by phantom settlements (intentional errors), and many-faceted suspense, Shepherd contrasts science and art, obsession and love in a bedazzling metaphysical tale of lost and found.”-Booklist

Read more

 

“A wildly entertaining, imaginative ride with a cinematic plot that keeps the pages turning.”-Real Simple

The Cartographers is a story about magical maps that lead to your heart’s desire, the sort of people who would do anything to find them, and the joy, regret, and possibility they bring. A vastly rich experience. I loved this book.”-Charles Soule, author of The Oracle Year

“Peng Shepherd flawlessly celebrates the ancient craft of cartography while taking readers on a thrilling journey of discovery.”-Veranda

“If you enjoyed John Green’s Paper Towns, but always wanted to read a book about ghost maps written for adults . . . then The Cartographers is the book for you! . . . One of the cleverest mysteries of the year.”-CrimeReads

 
.

ALSO IN 

MYSTERY & THRILLERS

RECOMMENDED POSTS