The Hunter

This post may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through these links, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a small commission.

the hunter book cover

by Jennifer Herrera

Publication Date: January 10, 2023
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Hardcover: 352 Pages

Publisher Description

A riveting atmospheric suspense debut that explores the dark side of a small town and asks: How can we uncover the truth when we keep lying to ourselves?

After reckless behavior costs NYPD detective Leigh O’Donnell her job and her marriage, she returns with her four-year-old daughter to her beautiful hometown of Copper Falls, Ohio. Leigh had stayed away for more than a decade—even though her brother and a trio of loving uncles still call it home—because, while the town may seem idyllic, something rotten lies at its core. Three men in town have drowned in what Leigh suspects to be a triple homicide. She hopes that by finding out who killed them, she just might get her life back on course.

Headstrong and intuitive, Leigh isn’t afraid to face a killer, but she has to do more than that to discover the truth about what happened to those men. She must unravel a web of secrets going back generations, and, in doing so, plumb the darkness within herself.

Perfect for fans of Mare of Easttown, this taut debut is a haunting look at how the search for truth often leads back to the most unlikely of places.

About the author

Jennifer Herrera is a former philosophy grad student turned literary agent. She has lived in six states and five countries (so far) and now resides in Philadelphia with her husband, daughter, and cat.  

Read more about Jennifer ON HER WEBSITE

Praise

“[A] complex plot, which is matched by thoroughly realized characters whose actions are anything but predictable. Herrera is a writer to watch.”–Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Read more

 

The Hunter will bring thriller fans the immersive read they’re looking for.”–“Good Morning America” (online)

“Literary agent Herrera delves deep to sculpt believable, multi-layered characters. The Hunter launches a new, most-welcomed series.”–South Florida Sun-Sentinel

“[A] generational mystery that’ll keep readers on their toes…Herrera’s debut threads uneasiness and mistrust through a pulse-pounding mystery.”–PopSugar 

ALSO IN 

MYSTERY & THRILLERS

RECOMMENDED POSTS

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!

Looking for Book Club Recommendations?

Join now and get access to our exclusive content!

Become a Passionate Reader

Say YES to your reading routine!