In a Book Club Far Away

This post may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through these links, at no additional cost to you, I will earn a small commission.

In a Book Club Far Away

A novel
by Tif Marcelo

On Sale: April 6, 2021
Publisher: Gallery Books
Paperback: 400 Pages


Publisher Description

From the author of Once Upon a Sunset and The Key to Happily Ever After comes a heartwarming and moving novel following three Army wives—estranged friends—who must overcome their differences when one of them is desperate for help.

Regina Castro, Adelaide Wilson-Chang, and Sophie Walden used to be best friends. As Army wives at Fort East, they bonded during their book club and soon became inseparable. But when an unimaginable betrayal happened amongst the group, the friendship abruptly ended, and they haven’t spoken since.

That’s why, eight years later, Regina and Sophie are shocked when they get a call for help from Adelaide. Adelaide’s husband is stationed abroad, and without any friends or family near her new home of Alexandria, Virginia, she has no one to help take care of her young daughter when she has to undergo emergency surgery. For the sake of an innocent child, Regina and Sophie reluctantly put their differences aside to help an old friend.

As the three women reunite, they must overcome past hurts and see if there’s any future for their friendship.

About the author

Tif Marcelo is a veteran army nurse and holds a BS in ursing and a Master’s in public administration. She believes and writes about the strength of families, the endurance of friendship, heartfelt romances, and is inspired daily by her own military hero husband and four children. 

For more about Tif, check her website HERE!

Praise

Featuring Tif Marcelo’s signature “enchanting prose” and the books that brought them together in the first place, In a Book Club Far Away honors the immense power of female friendship and how love can defy time, distance, and all old wounds. —Amy E. Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake
Read more

“Marcelo captivates in this endearing story about the bonds of friendship… Making good use of Army life as the backdrop, Marcelo skillfully layers the narrative with the three women’s points of view, capturing both their singular and collective worlds. Themes of friendship, forgiveness, and women’s independence make this propulsive, feel-good story a gem.” ― Publishers Weekly

“Fans of book clubs will enjoy the discussions of the popular reading that Adelaide’s book club favors…Told in a straightforward style, this story of women’s friendship and commitment to the army lifestyle will appeal to fans of Kristin Hannah, Debbie Macomber, or Sarah Pekkanen.” ― Library Journal

“With a wonderfully diverse cast, tantalizing descriptions of Filipino food, a realistic portrayal of the challenges of being a military spouse, and a hint of romance, Marcelo’s latest will charm readers and could lead to a fruitful book discussion.” ― Booklist

“We might not be able to choose our family, but we can choose our friends—and the books we read. In a Book Club Far Away celebrates both these blessings through a trio of army wives who, across the span of eleven years, learn hard lessons about true friendship and forgiveness. Adelaide, Sophie, and Regina are unequivocally real, full of foibles, compassion, moxie, and humor; I wanted to shake them, then invite them over for drinks. If you’re like me, you’ll turn the last page then rush to call your friends, and maybe start your own book club. Make this open-hearted charmer your first selection; your friends will thank you.” — Sonja Yoerg, Washington Post bestselling author of True Places

“Tif Marcelo has a way of writing characters that invite you into their lives from the first page. In a Book Club Far Away finds us traveling through a tumultuous decade with 3 Army wives navigating love and loss and grief and hope and life, against the backdrop of books from various genres and authors. Marcelo takes a deep dive into the crux of female friendship and the result is a story that is equal parts surprising, raw, funny, and delicious. A perfect next choice for your own book club whether it’s comprised of 20 members or one.” — Amy Impellizzeri, award-winning author of I Know How This Ends

“No one writes heartwarming tales of love, family, and friendship quite like Tif Marcelo, and her latest is a standout. The story of three semi-estranged friends who reunite in a time of crisis, In a Book Club Far Away is a wonderful reminder that some bonds—and yes, book clubs—can’t be broken. I loved it. — Camille Pagán, bestselling author of This Won’t End Well

“Touching… The military community setting adds a much-appreciated layer that explores the sacrifices military service requires…and gives a peek at what life in that tight-knit group is like…With fully-developed characters, In a Book Club Far Away is a celebration and testament to the power of female friendship…. After reading this beautiful novel you’ll want to be in a book club right alongside Adelaide, Regina, and Sophie.” ― BookTrib

ALSO IN 

WOMEN’S FICTION

RECOMMENDED POSTS

SIGN UP FOR OUR BEST BOOK RECOMMENDATIONS!

.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.